gurudas mahavidyalaya  

About Sir Gurudas Mahavidyalaya


Gurudas College of Commerce was established in 1968 affiliated to the University of Calcutta and enlisted under Section 2(f) and 12(b) of the UGC Act. The name of the College is changed to SIR GURUDAS MAHAVIDYALAYA due to its conversion from unifaculty to multifaculty Institution





Our college strives to

  • Instigate quality education to prepare individuals who can provide exemplary service in the changing global scenario.
  • Inculcate the core values within our student community.
  • Imbibe perseverance in accelerating the academic pursuits.
  • Inhibit cramming the prescribed syllabus and evaluating the memory capacity in producing the same within a stipulated time period for superficial competition and comparison.
  • Include the weaker and disadvantaged section of the community as a successful part of our student community.
  • Indulge in developing sustainable and innovative teaching methods.
  • Initiate a positive and nurturing learning environment.
  • Introspect the management of the college towards advancement of learning.
  • Inspire the student community.




Contribute to University’s advancement of learning through our own vision and mission



Committed to targets for academic excellence



  • Affiliation and recognition in 1968 as Gurudas College of Commerce. Introduction of honours level courses in the year 1998.
  • Shifting of the college to its final destination on 6th March 2001, with a new identity SIR GURUDAS MAHAVIDYALAYA,having its own building,day shift classes and multifaculty scopes.
  • An interactive platform for the college is AYUSH- the annual magazine of the college since its inception in the year 2003
  • A short time period, gave this college an academic leap with the introduction of two honours and five general courses in the year 2004-2005, six honours and four general courses in the year 2005-2006.
  • 3rd March 2006 maked the day of pride when the students of this college grabbed the excellence in co-curricular activities in the form of ZEE TV common room programme,emerging as runner ups in the finals and the effort is uninterrupted till date.
  • With the earnest effort of the principal.Dr.Okab Ali Sarkar, National Service Scheme was inaugurated in the college under Programme officer Prof Hasi Mukhopadhyay on 1st april 2008 and till date.
  • UGC- Network Resource Centre was a great step to technological access in the form of internet connectivity to the students of this college in the year 2008.
  • Organising seminars are a regular feature of this college with some remarkable ones like Bangla bhasa andolan, organized by dept. of Bengali, on 3rd February 2006, UGC funded seminar on Contemporary environmental ethic: education for sustainable development, in collaboration with Ramkrishna Mission Institute of Culture,on 22th March 2007, Introduction of Semester System in undergraduate level on 27th -28th March 2009 with UGC grant in collaboration with All Bengal Principals Council. Various Seminars in the Academic Sessions 2011-12 and 2012-13 are conducted under UGC Sponsored "Career and Counselling Cell" (3 seminars and Campussing) and "Equal Opportunity Centre" (2 Seminars)
  • The year 2010 brought the college THE BEST N.S.S. UNIT 2009-2010 award from University of Calcutta. In the 2011-12 Session SGM was also awarded THE BEST N.S.S. College under University of Calcutta.
  • For the security of students and faculties, the whole campus runs under CCTV surveillance.


go top


Name & Location


New name of the college is Sir Gurudas Mahavidyalaya. It is only three minutes walk from Ultadanga Railway Station and only five minutes walk from Ultandanga-VIP road-EM By Pass Crossing. The College is well linked by frequent Bus, Tram and Railway Services. The college is housed in a 3-storied building constructed by Hooghly River Bridge commissioners (HRBC) with state-of-the art technology providing plenty of light and air. It is built-up on 20 cottahs of land with (3 x 5000)=15000 square feet plinth area having an adjoining vacant land of about 5 bighas.


The Co-education system and Day-shift are introduced in the College from the academic session-2001-'02. The College is catering to the need for higher education of the pupil of Northern-Eastern region of the city of Kolkata and its suburbs.




The College is governed by a Governing Body Constituted under statute 93 of the Calcutta University First Statute 1979. The Principal is the Head of the Institution and Administrative Chief of the College The young, energetic, hard working, dedicated newly recruited faculty mix of efficient and experienced senior teachers shoulder the academic responsibility with quality assurance in Higher Education. The Administrative Staff members help in various staff functions like office Administration, Accounts, Library etc. with special emphasis on students' need and quick address to their problem


go top


Governing Body





Sl. No.





Dr. Ganesh Chandra Ray


Member Secretary (Ex. Officio)


Sri Okab Ali Sarkar, Principal


Members-University Nominee


Dr. Rupayan Bhattachariya


Dr. Ganesh Chandra Ray



Govt. Nominee


Md. Mutaleb Ali Sardar
Sri Anjan Kr. Burman


Local Councillor (Ex. Officio)
(Ward No. 14, K.M.C.)


Sri Amal Chakraborty


Teacher's Representative


Sri Jayanta Kumar Baidya


Sri Hasi Mukhopadhyay


Smt. P. Haldar


Dr. P.K.Dey


Non-teaching Staff Representative


Sri Partha Chakraborty


Sri J. Mishra


General Secretary
Students' Union (Ex. Officio)


Sri Joyjit Dutta



go top



Non - Teaching Staff


1 Sri. Partha Chakraborty Head-Clerk
2 Vacant Accountant
3 Sri. Jyotirmoy Mishra Cashier
4 Smt. Chaitali Sen Typist
5 Sri. Saikat Majumdar Clerk 
6 Sri. Samir Halder (S.C.) Clerk 
7 Sri. Bimal Kundu (S.C.) Electrician cum Caretaker
8 Sri. Janardan Naskar (S.C.) Pump, Generator Operator
9 Sri. Ranjan Hazari (S.C.) Peon  
10 Sri. Ratan Syamal (S.C.) Peon
11 Sri. Ashim Ghatak Guard 
12 Sri. Nirmal Biswas (S.C.) Guard 
13 Smt. Dipali Das (S.C.) Ladies Common Room Attendant
14 Sri. Nageswar Prasad Hela (S.C.) Sweeper
15 Sri. Sujit Kumar Sharma Computer Laboratory Instrcutor (Casual)
16 Sri. Gouranga Das Casual Guard
17 Sri. Dulal Paul Casual Guard
18 Sri Kishan Hela Casual Sweeper
19 Sri Mofijul Rahman Daily Worker



go top